Finalists announced for prestigious industry awards

The finalists for the Neighbourhood Retailer Awards 2015 have been announced with 80 leading retailers from across Northern Ireland in the running for 17 industry awards.

They will now battle it out at the 17th annual Neighbourhood Retailer Awards ceremony to be held in Belfast.

Set in the fabulous Ramada Plaza on Friday October 16, and hosted by one of Northern Ireland’s best-loved broadcasters, Eamonn Holmes, the Neighbourhood Retailer Awards will play host to the finest convenience and fuel retailers from across the country.

With more than 400 individual award entries received from across Northern Ireland, reaching the final of these awards signifies a major achievement for independent retailers, symbol groups and oil companies.

The ceremony is guaranteed to be a fabulous occasion. Guests will walk the red carpet and join the champagne reception, feel the excitement build ahead of the Awards ceremony, then enjoy a gala dinner and superb live entertainment.

In attendance will also over 500 key decision-makers from Northern Ireland’s and the Republic’s independent retailers, wholesalers, symbol groups, and oil companies – making it a major networking opportunity.

This year’s host, Eamonn Holmes

The Northern Ireland Cancer Fund for Children will again be the charity partner for this year’s event and much-needed funds are expected to be raised on the night.

Over the past 16 years, the Neighbourhood Retailer Awards has attracted entries from the leading retailers in the country who hope their businesses will come out on top and scoop an award at the industry event of the year.

This year sees the return of the Industry Achievement Award, which last year acknowledged the excellent contribution made by Niall Creighton to the industry, and much anticipation surrounds who will be this year’s recipient from NI’s broad pool of world-class retailers.

The awards have garnered much industry support over the years and 2015 is no different. Leaders in their respective fields – such as Imperial Tobacco, JTI, Nestle Professional, Cuisine de France, Pay Point, United Wine Merchants, Salesplacement, Costa Express, PRM, Philip Morris, CPUK, and Note Machine – are backing this year’s award categories.

Now it is time to book a table at the event. Not only are the NR Awards a fantastic celebration of the finest retailers from across NI, they are a unique networking event attended by key decision makers from leading companies in this sector.

Book a table by clicking here, calling the booking hotline on 028 90 457 457, or email


NR Awards 2015 finalists (full list)*:

Neighbourhood Store of the Year

Category 1:  Convenience store up to 1,500 sq ft

Castlearchdale Service Station Ltd, Lisnarick, Co Fermangh

Centra Boucher Road, Belfast, Co Antrim

Harte’s Nisa Local, Pomeroy, Co Tyrone

SPAR Crawfordsburn, Co Down

SPAR Mountsandel, Coleraine, Co Derry/Londonderry


Neighbourhood Store of the Year

Category 2: Convenience store 1,501-3,500sq ft

Alvarod Maxol Service Station Eglinton, Co Derry/Londonderry

The Phoenix Centra Ballymena, Co Antrim

Lilley’s Centra, Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh

Quinns Spar Westland Road, Cookstown Co Tyrone

Spar Lagan Valley, Hillsbourgh Rd, Lisburn, Co Antrim


Neighbourhood Store of the Year

Category 3: Convenience store 3,501 sq ft -7,000 sq ft

Hughes – Nisa Extra, Camlough, Co Armagh

Kelly’s EUROSPAR Moneymore, Co Derry/Londonderry

Mulkern’s Eurospar, Newry, Co Down

Swift’s EUROSPAR, Lisnaskea, Co Fermanagh

The Fresh Food Centre, Castlewellan, Co Down


Neighbourhood Store of the Year

Category 4: Convenience store over 7,000 sq ft

JC Stewart Ltd, Magherafelt, Co Derry/Londonderry

McVeighs EUROSPAR, Warrenpoint, Co Down

Milestone Nisa Extra, Rathfriland, Co Down

Newell’s, Coalisland, Co Tyrone

SuperValu, Ballymoney, Co Antrim

The Fiveways Nisa Extra, Newry, Co Down

Casey’s EUROSPAR Crossmaglen, Co Armagh


Store Manager of the Year

Earl Patterson, Centra Foodmarket, Omagh, Co Tyrone

Vanessa Taylor, JC Stewart Ltd, Magherafelt, Co Derry/Londonderry

Ian Elliott, SuperValu, Ballymoney, Co Antrim

Darren Given,    Swift’s Eurospar Lisnaskea, Co Fermangh


Forecourt of the Year

Category 1: Forecourt with convenience store up to 1,750sq ft

Castlearchdale Service Station Ltd. Lisnarick. Co Fermanagh

Centra, Magherafelt, Co Derry/Londonderry

Maxol Edenderry Service Station, Crumlin Road, Belfast, Co Antrim

Milburn Spar & Filling Station, Lissan Rd, Cookstown Co Tyrone

Patterson’s Centra, Gilford Rd, Portadown, Co Armagh



Forecourt of the Year

Category 2: Forecourt with c-store more than 1,750 sq ft

Applegreen Motorway Service Area, M2 Northbound, Newtownabbey, Co Antrim

Centra Ballinderry, Glenavy Rd, Co Antrim

The Phoenix Centra Ballymena, Antrim Road, Ballymena, Co Antrim

EUROSPAR Brackenvale, Saintfield Rd, Carryduff, Belfast, Co Down

Mayobridge Service Station, Newry Road, Mayobridge Co Down

Spar Abbeyhill, Newtownards Road, Bangor, Co Down

Spar, Belfast Road, Bangor, Co Down


CTN of the Year

Glenmac, Glen Road, Belfast, Co Antrim

McRobbie’s Centra, Conlig, Newtownards, Co Down

Smyth’s Centra, Newcastle, Co Down

Spar / Topaz, Glenavy Village, Co Antrim


Off-Licence of the Year

Lilley’s Centra, Lough Shore Road, Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh

Kenny’s Randalstown, Co Antrim

Dolan’s Centra, Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh

The Fiveways Nisa Extra, Newry, Co Down

Emerson’s Supermarket, Scotch St, Co Armagh

Crawford’s Of Maghera, Main St, Maghera, Co Derry/Londonderry



Bakery of the Year

Crawford’s Of Maghera, Maghera, Co Derry/Londonderry

EUROSPAR Maghera, Co Derry

Milestone Nisa Extra, Rathfriland, Co Down

Donnelly’s Bakery and Coffee Shop, Ballycastle


Butcher of the Year

Casey’s Eurospar, Coole Park Meats, Crossmaglen, Co Armagh

Corries Farm Butchers and Deli, Holywood, Co Down

David Mawhinney and Sons Butchery and Deli, Bangor, Co Down

McAtamney’s Butchers, Abbey St, Coleraine, Co Derry

McAtamneys Butchers, James St, Cookstown Co Tyrone


Newcomer of the Year

Alvarod T/a Maxol Service Station, Eglinton, Co Londonderry

Applegreen Motorway Service Area, M2 Northbound, Newtownabbey, Co Antrim

Casey’s Eurospar, Crossmaglen, Co Armagh

Castlearchdale Service Station, Lisnarick, Co Fermanagh

Centra Boucher Road,    Belfast, Co Antrim

JM Retail – Todays Local, Forkhill Road, Mullaghbawn, Co Down


Pharmacy of the Year

Bannside Pharmacy, Main Street, Portglenone, Co Antrim

Harrison Healthcare, Donegall Pass, Belfast, Co Antrim

McMullan’s Pharmacy, Lisburn Road, Belfast

Melvin Pharmacy, Main Street, Garrison, Co Fermanagh


Deli of the Year

Hughes – Nisaextra, Camlough, Co Armagh

Lilley’s Centra, Enniskillen, Co Fermanagh

The Green Deli in Mace, Titanic Quarter, Queen’s Road, Belfast

McVeigh’s EUROSPAR, Warrenpoint, Co Down

Milestone Nisa Extra, Rathfriland, Co Down


Training Initiative of the Year

A29 Spar & Filling Station Solo Retailing, Dungannon Road, Cookstown, Co Derry/Londonderry

SuperValu Ballymoney, Co Antrim

Swift’s Eurospar, Lisnaskea, Co Fermanagh

Moran’s Centra, Co Derry/Londonderry


Green Store of the Year

Emerson’s Supermarket, Co Armagh
EUROSPAR Ranfurly, Dungannon,  Co Tyrone
Spar Lagan Valley, Hillsbourgh Rd Lisburn, Lisburn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *