Neighbourhood Retailer 2017 – Last Year’s Winners

Host Roy Walker with model Melissa Ferris

The 2016 Neighbourhood Retailer Awards were an outstanding success.

The event, hosted by king of the catchphrase Roy Walker, saw almost 500 NI retailers descend on the Ramada Plaza in Belfast for the glittering contest.

Fiveways Nisa Extra in Newry picked up an impressive three awards, including the overall Neighbourhood Retailer of the Year prize.

Fiveways also took home the Deli of the Year and Neighbourhood Store of the Year Category 4 trophies, as well as the coveted overall prize.

The 2016 awards was among the biggest in its 18 year history, and saw the launch of a new category – Community Store of the Year. Sponsored by Q Radio, it is the first category to have been decided by public vote.

After receiving over 7,000 votes from the public, the inaugural winner of the award was Crawford’s of Maghera, with the announcement causing scenes of jubilation among the store’s staff.

William Brown of Arcadia Delicatessen with his Lifetime Achievement Award crystal trophy.



The Neighbourhood Award Winners 2017

Neighbourhood Retailer of the Year 2016

Fiveways from Newry, Co. Down


Overall winner on the night was Fiveways, Newry who scooped three awards including Retailer of the Year. Pictured is Ryan McCabe accepting the award alongside Deirbhle O’Brien and Helen Meehan, daughter of Fiveways, Newry owner Colm Meehan. They are pictured with model Melissa Ferris and trade development manager David Atkinson from category sponsor Imperial Tobacco.

Lifetime Achievement Award

William Brown, Arcadia Delicatessen

Darren Hughes from category sponsor PRM with winner William Brown


Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 1)

Hoey’s Mace, Belfast

Michael Dorsch from category sponsor FIFO with winners Declan Hoey, Edel Hoey and Colm O’Neill, MD of Solv-X, distributer of FIFO products

Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 2)

Spar Ballyclare

Sonia Bentley from category sponsor Central Partners UK with Daniel Mellor from Spar Ballyclare


Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 3)

Eurospar Mayobridge

Ronan O’Hare, Sharon Mussen and Nigel O’Hare from Eurospar Mayobridge, with Stephen Bryan from category sponsor Note Machine.


Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 4)

Fiveways Newry

Yvonne Meehan, Ann McCabe, Ryan McCabe, Helen Meehan, with Brian Steele from category sponsor Capital Essentials, Deirbhle O’Brien and Marie-Claire Meehan representing Fiveways Newry.


Forecourt of the Year (Cat 1)

Applegreen Ballymena

Stephen Kelly, director of Costa Ireland Ltd with Gerry Bennett from Applegreen Ballymena


Forecourt of the Year (Cat 2)

Trainer Brothers Retail Ltd, Poyntzpass

Neighbourhood Retailer publisher Bill Penton, Corinna and James Trainor, with Peter Jackson from sponsor JTI

Community Store of the Year

Crawford’s Maghera

Back row: Lyndsey Patts, Stephen Brennan, Emma Anderson, Marie Lagan, Victoria Paul, Sinead McMeel and Ellen Morrem. Front row: Dermot Convery, Stephen Clements from category sponsor Q Radio, Jonathan Crawford and Eugene O’Hagan.


Off Licence of the Year

Emerson’s Armagh

Alessia McGowan from Emerson’s Armagh with James Hughes from category sponsor LCN.


Butcher of the Year

McAtamney’s Butchers in Coleraine

Patrick McGoldrick, John Apperley, Gabriel McTaggart with Derek Gallagher from category sponsor Spices Nice


Store Manager of the Year

Craig Crossey-Truesdale from Chalet Costcutter Portadown

Winner Craig Crossey with category sponsor June Wilson, director at sponsor Sales Placement


Deli of the Year

Fiveways Newry

Helen Meehan and Ryan McCabe from Fiveways Newry, with Beth Mason from sponsor Wedding Journal


Bakery of the Year

Milestone, Rathfriland

Tom McAvoy, owner of Milestone Nisa Extra, Rathfriland, with John McCartan, Michael Flannigan from category sponsor Flannigan Edmonds & Bannon, and Raymond Finnegan


Best Customer Service

Centra Crossmaglen

Norman Bennett and Frank McGleenan from Centra Crossmaglen, with Martin Conway from category sponsor Meteor Electrical


Newcomer of the Year

Applegreen M1, Lisburn

Brenda Johnston from category sponsor Bro Coffee, with Ian Rothery representing Applegreen M1


Pharmacy of the Year

Bannside Pharmacy

Carla Graham, with Michael Ringland from category sponsor Energia, and Ryan Graham


CTN of the Year

Leathem’s Centra Lisburn Road

Ricky Leathem, Chloe O’Neill, Ciara McMeniman from category sponsor Imperial Tobacco, Vicky Leathem and Neil Larmour