Neighbourhood Retailer 2017 – Last Year’s Winners

The 2017 Neighbourhood Retailer Awards were an outstanding success.

The event, hosted by broadcasters Pamela Ballantine and Stephen Clements, saw almost 500 NI retailers descend on the Crowne Plaza in Belfast for the glittering contest.


The 2017 awards was among the biggest in the event’s 19-year history and during the evening, we saw Tom McAvoy clinch the NI Retailer of the Year Award for the second time and watched Joe Sloan, founder of one of Northern Ireland’s most successful companies – The SHS Group – step up to accept the Neighbourhood Retailer Lifetime Achievement Award.

Here are pictures of the winners of all the categories at last year’s event.


The Neighbourhood Award Winners 2017

Neighbourhood Retailer of the Year 2017

Winners Noel Hadden and Tom McAvoy of Milestone NisaExtra are pictured with Julie Ozturk of Neighbourhood Retailer and Patrick Brennan from category sponsor, Revolution Laundrette.


Lifetime Achievement Award

SHS Group founder, Joe Sloan, accepts the NR Lifetime Achievement Award for 2017. Included are Brett Ross (left), chief executive of category sponsor, RiverRidge and awards organiser, Bill Penton.


Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 1)

Ibe Sesay (left) from category sponsor, Q Radio, is pictured with winners Alana McCabe and Timothy Johnston of DSP Vivo Churchtown.

Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 2)

Category sponsor, Sonja Bentley (left) from Nestle Cereals, is pictured with winners Alwyn and Roberta Curry from Spar Culmore.

Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 3)

Andrew Porter (left0 and Michael Smyth (right) of Creighton’s Balmoral, are pictured with Niall Murphy of category sponsor, Revolution Laundrette.


Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Cat 4)

Bill Penton (left), awards organiser, is pictured with Tom McAvoy and Noel Hadden, Milestone Rathfriland, and Brian Steele from category sponsor, Capitol Essentials.


Forecourt of the Year (Cat 1)

Sacha and Donna Dolan (left) from the Traveller’s Rest, Strabane, with their winner’s trophy and the category sponsor, John Carr, from Costa Express.


Forecourt of the Year (Cat 2)

Kevin Patterson and Gerry Bennett (left) of Maxol Spar, Tannaghmore, are pictured with Peter Jackson of category sponsor, JTI.

Community Store of the Year

Winners Stephen McMahon and Claire Maguire of The Co-op Food, Oldpark Road, Belfast are pictured with Ibe Sesay of category sponsor, Q Radio.


Off Licence of the Year

Winner Alessie Magowan is pictured with Somon Gray of category sponsor, Boost Drinks Ltd.


Butcher of the Year

Pictured are (from left) McAtamney’s area manager, Gabriel McTaggart, with Derek Gallagher from category sponsor, Spices Nice and Shane Doherty from the Limavady store.

Store Manager of the Year

Stephen McMahon, The Co-op Food, Oldpark Road, Belfast, is pictured with category sponsor, David Atkinson of Imperial Tobacco.


Deli of the Year

The winners of this category were Milestone NisaExtra. Shown here are Tom McAvoy, Mark Haughey, John McCartney, Irene Collins of category sponsor, EIQA, Noel Hadden and Steven Haveron.


Bakery of the Year

Pictured are Becky McCloy, Donnelly’s; Wynn Penton, awards organiser; Philip Campbell, category sponsor, Cuisine de France and Una Donnelly, Donnelly’s.


Best Customer Service

Category sponsor, John Houston (left) from Imperial Tobacco, is pictured with Gemma Nicholson and Gregory Coughlan of Eurospar Knockchree and awards organiser, Bill Penton.


Newcomer of the Year

David Finnegan (left) and Malachy Mackin (right) from SuperValu Dublin Road are pictured with Eddie Dale of category sponsor, Solv-X/Fifo.


CTN of the Year

Category sponsor, Andrea Keers of Logic Vapes with the winners from Centra Lisburn, Ricky and Vicky Leathem.