Neighbourhood Retailer Awards 2017- Meet the Winners

The mood in the majestic Crown Plaza was one of nervous expectation last Friday night. Over 500 of NI’s best retailers waited with baited breath, as this year’s Neighbour Retailer award winners were announced. Presenting the awards were special guests Pamela Ballantine and Stephen Clements, whose wit and chemistry injected some levity into the tentative atmosphere.

Returning champion Milestone NisaExtra Rathfriland were the overall winners on the night, picking up three awards including Neighbourhood Retailer of the Year.

The Neighbourhood Award Winners 2017

Neighbourhood Retailer of the Year

Milestone NisaExtra Rathfriland

Noel Hadden and TomMcAvoy, Milestone Rathfriland, featured with Julie Boyde and category sponsor

Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Category 1)

DSP Vivo Churchtown

Ibe Sesay (left) from category sponsor Q Radio is pictured with winners Alana McCabe and Timothy Johnston of DSP Vivo Churchtown.

Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Category 2)

Spar Culmore

Category sponsor, Sonja Bentley (left) from Nestle Cereals is pictured with the winners Alwyn and Roberta Curry from Spar Culmore.

Neighbourhood Store of the Year (Category 3)

Creightons of Balmoral

Andrew Porter (left) and Michael Smyth (right) of Creighton’s Balmoral are pictured with Niall Murphy of category sponsor, Revolution Laundrette.

Neighborhood Store of the Year (Cat 4)

Milestone NisaExtra Rathfriland

Bill Penton (left), awards organiser is pictured with Tom McEvoy and Noel Hadden, Milestone Rathfriland and Brian Steele from category sponsor, Capital Essentials

Newcomer of the Year

Supervalu Dublin Road

David Finnegan (left) and Malachy Mackin (right) from SuperValu Dublin Road are pictured with Eddie Dale of category sponsor, Solv-X/Fifo.

Off Licence of the Year

Emerson’s of Armagh

Winner, Alessie Magowan is pictured with Simon Gray of category sponsor, Boost Drinks Ltd.

Store Manager of the Year

Stephen McMahon

Stephen McMahon, the Cop-op Food, Oldpark Road is pictured with category sponsor, David Atkinson of Imperial Tobacco.

Bakery of the Year

Donnelly’s Bakery and Coffee Shop, Ballycastle

Pictured are Una Donnelly, Donnelly’s; Wynn Penton, organiser; Philip Campbell, category sponsor, Cuisine de France and Becky McCloy, Donnelly’s.

Customer Service

Eurospar Knockchree, Kilkeel

Category sponsor, John Houston (left) of Imperial Tobacco is pictured with Gemma Nicholson and Gregory Coughlan of Eurospar Knockchree and awards organiser, Bill Penton.

Butcher of the Year

Spice’s Nice

Receiving the Butcher of the Year award at the recent Neighbourhood Retailer Awards is McAtamney’s area manager Gabriel McTaggart, with Derek Gallagher from category sponsor Spices Nice and from the Limavady store, Shane Doherty

Community Store of the Year

Co-op Food Oldpark Road, Belfast

Winners Stephen McMahon and Claire Maguire of The Co-op Food, Oldpark Road are pictured with Ibe Sesay of category sponsor, Q Radio.

CTN of the Year

Centra Lisburn Road, Belfast

Category sponsor Andrea Keers with the winners from Centra Lisburn Rd, Ricky Leathem, and Vicky Leathem.

Deli of the Year

Milestone NisaExtra, Rathfriland

The winners in this category were Milestone Nissaextra. Shown here are Tom McAvoy, Mark Haughey, John McCartney, Irene Collins (EIQA, category sponsor); Noel Hadden and Steven Haveron.

Forecourt of the Year (Category 1)

Traveller's Rest, Strabane

Sacha and Donna Dolan (left) from the Travellers’ Strabane with their winner’s trophy and the category sponsor, John Carr from Costa express

Forecourt of the Year (Category 2)

Maxol Spar, Tannaghmore

Kevin Patterson and Gerry Bennett (left) of Maxol Spar, Tannaghmore are pictured with Peter Jackson of category sponsor, JTI

Lifetime Achievement Award

Joe Sloan, SHS Group

Winner Joe Sloan featured with category sponsor and Bill Penton


Congratulations to all of this year's winners and finalists!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *